Start with a cushion!

Well, it has been a bit quiet on the blog front, I was very busy in the run up to the holidays, and something had to give; but there has been some action in the new studio nonetheless. Before I finalize where all the furniture is, I am test-driving the studio with a few smallish projects, to see if the current arrangement works for me as a space. I thought I would start with something quick and easy, and I need to make some cushions for the sofa bed, so I made a cushion from a Woolly Lady pattern that I picked up at Satin Moon in Victoria, BC, during a trip to Canada last year.  The hand dyed wool (also from Woolly Lady) was really nice to work with.  I altered the pattern a little to make the piping wider (because I had enough green wool to do that and it seemed a pity not to use it!) and the cushion tuned out great.  I appliquéd the fern using the blanket stitch on my Pfaff and YLI variegated thread from Luana Rubin.  I love variegated thread on almost plain fabrics: it just gives that little extra pop.   Every time I look at the cushion I think of my holiday in Canada, so that’s got to be a good thing, right?

The finished Autumn Fern cushion, stuffed with a nice fat pillow pad.

The finished Autumn Fern cushion, stuffed with a nice fat pillow pad.

A detail of the blanket stitch applique on the cushion. Hand dyed wool en YLI variageted thread from Luana Rubin.

A detail of the blanket stitch applique on the cushion. Hand dyed wool en YLI variagated thread from Luana Rubin.

Anyway, one new cushion for the sofa bed in a day. And a little brush and pan set for sweeping up all the little fragments of tearaway stabilizer…..

Leave a Reply

