A cushion in pastel tints

I was leafing through some photo’s from the summer recently, when one of the shadows of our Horse Chestnut Tree (or Buckeye) caught my eye: the shadow of each palmate leaf clearly projected onto the ground below. I decided to experiment with the leaves and make a cushion.  I scaled up the leaf image and made a tracing to use as the basis for fusible applique. Then I pieced a background from a packet of  charm squares from Moda’s ‘Dream on’ range, to make the cushion more interesting.

The cushion being made: leaves appliqued and background quilted.

The cushion being made: leaves appliqued and background partially quilted.

 

Then I appliquéd one plain and one marbled fabric leaf with a machine blanket stitch and a bright variegated thread (YLI, Rio de Janeiro from Luana Rubin) and then I quilted in the ditch between the squares and then over the squares in a grid with a pastel variegated thread (YLI ) before quilting the veins of the leaves with the Rio thread.   The pastel thread for the grid quilting didn’t stand out as much as I had hoped, so I added another layer of diagonal quilting in both directions with a bolder quilt stitch, and that gave me the desired effect. I put a light blue border around the cushion that matches the backing fabric.

A detail photo of the leaf applique

A detail photo of the leaf applique

Ultimately, I am quite pleased with the cushion, although it is an unusual colour combination for me: I graduate more towards dark and country colours, so try to work out of the box every now and then with brights or pastels, just to see where it takes me!  

 

The finished horse chestnut cushion

The finished horse chestnut cushion

Leave a Reply

