Studio – a work in progress!

I am still adjusting and refining the new studio space: the more I work in it, the better I become acquainted with how the space works and which things I need to add or fine-tune. Shelves on the walls above the cutting and pressing stations, where I can store rulers, cutting tools and pressing supplies are very necessary: at the moment the cutting and pressing surfaces are too cluttered with equipment. So I have purchased two shelves, in white, from IKEA and will hang them soon. 

I am toying with the idea of swapping the positions of the day-bed and the cutting station, so that I can access the cutting station form two sides, and also have it under the window where the light is best during the day, but will have to do some serious measuring to see if it is possible in the space. Need to decide before I hang the shelves!

The view from the door: on the left the day bed, on the right the cutting station. Shelves are necessary to get all the clutter off the station.

The view from the door: on the left the day-bed, on the right the cutting station. Shelves are necessary to get all the clutter off the station.

A small table so that I can flat-bed the sewing machine for quilting is also on the wish list. There is not a lot of choice in ready-made tables and cabinets here: I have tried out a Sew-ezi table at a quilt show, and it was okay and is, I imagine, great for taking to classes, retreats etc, as it is easy to fold up and manoeuvre, but I would like something with a more permanent character, although being able to fold it up and put it away is definitely a plus!

Lastly, I am looking into getting a new sewing machine: my current machine is my trusty Pfaff 1473 CD, still going strong after 24 years (and now sewing again nicely after a service!) but I am sometimes frustrated by the limited space between the needle and the side of the machine when quilting, which is considerably less than the space modern machines offer.  

The view towrds the door from the cutting station: at the rear part of my stash storage.

The view towards the door from the cutting station: at the rear part of my stash storage. Under the patchwork cover on the sewing table: my Pfaff.

 

 

Leave a comment