And the candidates are… 4 quilt tops, which one to quilt first?

Well, its been busy in the Ice Bear Quilts Studio over the last few weeks, and I now have four quilt tops completed and ready for layering and quilting. But which top should I quilt first?

The first top is a version of Metroplitan Quilts ‘Amsterdam’ pattern, that I blogged about when I was starting the piecing a few months ago. It is a bright scrappy quilt with white sashing with coloured polka dots. For the backing I have a Moda backing fabric in a greeny aqua with spots. The binding will be the same white with spots as the sashing. The fabrics are brights from Heather Bailey and Kaffe Fassett.

Amsterdam quilt top, hanging on the design wall.

Amsterdam quilt top, hanging on the design wall.

The top (approx. 60″ by 80″) is bigger than my design wall, so it is hanging partly behind my cutting table in the lower left hand corner. I’m not sure yet how I want to quilt this top.

The second top is the ‘Classic Sampler Quilt’ from Pam and Nicky Lintott’s book Jelly Roll Sampler Quilts and is made from a Moda ‘Fabrics for a Cause – Hope’ Jelly Roll with coordinating yardage. The binding will be a red fabric from the same range. The backing will be a creamy fabric with small sprigs.

Classic Sampler Quilt top on the design wall.

Classic Sampler Quilt top on the design wall.

Again the quilt is too big (approx. 52″ x 66″) for the design wall, so is also hanging behind the cutting table.  There are lots of seams in this one, so I think the blocks will be mostly in-the-ditch quilting and outlining the motifs, with something a bit fancier for the sashing and the border.

The third quilt top is a version of Harmony Flower by Tailor Made by Design (Joanie Holton and Melanie Greseth) published in Quilters Newsletter in June/July 2012. As soon as I saw this pattern I knew it was exactly what I had been looking for for my collection of Japanese indigo’s. The original quilt was quite small, so I made it bigger by adding extra rows and columns. There are two reds used randomly for the bars in the quilt: one with a small pattern of Japanese flowers, and one solid. I used the solid for the border and will use the floral for the binding.

Harmony Flower quilt top on the design wall.

Harmony Flower quilt top on the design wall.

The top is also bigger than the design wall, at approx. 56″ x 80″. I am thinking of quilting this with a leafy pattern.  The backing fabric will be a deep indigo with little leaves.

The fourth top is a version of Janine Burke’s ‘Gemini’ quilt from Blue Underground Studios.  I made a number of changes to the original pattern, amongst other things the size (my version is approx 56″ by 80″) to make it suitable as a lap quilt. I also didn’t repeat any of the blocks (in the original each block set occurs twice, hence the name) because I don’t have a twin! I also added a black batik border because I felt the dramatic colours needed a frame. The quilt is made from batiks, marbles and Kaffe Fassett fabrics, and is for my husband to snuggle under whilst computing or watching television. The binding will be black, and the backing is a giant version of the two-part block, made of a couple of blues and greens in cosy flannel.

Gemini quilt top on the design wall

Gemini quilt top on the design wall

I am particularly pleased with how the shading works in the top, from light through medium to dark and back again as you go from top left to bottom right. I am thinking of quilting this with a cable design in the vertical columns. As this also doesn’t fit on the design wall, I can only conclude that I need a bigger design wall, of have to make smaller quilts!

So, which top should I quilt first? I would like to hear from readers of my blog what they think: suggestions for how I should quilt them are also most welcome.

Amsterdam

Amsterdam

This one?….

Classic Sampler

Classic Sampler

Or this one?…

Harmony Flower

Harmony Flower

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or this one?…

Gemini

Gemini

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or this one?….

 

Watch this space!!

Leave a Reply

