Twelve Times 12″ x 12″ by One: a new challenge for a new year!

The festive season saw a new addition to the Ice Bear Quilts Studio: an Ackfeld Manufacturing Table Stand, a decorative wire stand for displaying a 12″ by 12″ inch quilt.

The Ackfeld Manufacturing Table Stand

The Ackfeld Manufacturing Table Stand

The stand came with four decorative ‘headers’, that fit on top, above the quilt. One for each season of the year: A snowflake for winter, a flower for spring, a sun for summer and an acorn with an oak leaf for autumn. But do I have any 12″ x 12″ quilts to display on it? No. Do I want to use it? Perhaps on the bureau in our entry hall? Yes!

The winter snowflake header

The Winter snowflake header

So I have devised a challenge for myself for 2015: I am going to make a 12″ x 12″ quilt for (and during) every month of the year, which will have its début on the stand (and on the blog) at the beginning of every month, and with every small quilt I am going to try something new: a technique, a material or a tool, or all three, so that by December 2015 I will have twelve 12″ x 12″ quilts for my entry hall and I will have mastered and tested some new stuff!

The spring flower header.

The Spring flower header

Realistically speaking the quilt will probably make its blog début on the first weekend of the month, as I have less time to blog through the week, so bear with me on that one!

The Summer sun header

The Summer sun header

Now of course, having a January quilt ready for the first of January is a little difficult if you only got the stand the day before, and had to have the idea in the first place, so the January quilt will be fairly simple, as will the February quilt (to be made in what is left of January once the January quilt is finished!). But after that the sky is the limit, so long as a quilt is ready by the end of each month.

The Autumn acorn and oak leaf header

The Autumn acorn and oak leaf header

The only thing I know for certain is that quilt no. 12, for December will feature Ice Bears! But I am getting ahead of myself…first a quilt for January, the coldest month here in the Netherlands…. I have visions of snowmen and snowflakes…to be continued!

Stand with Winter header in need of a 12" x 12" quilt!

Stand with Winter header in need of a 12″ x 12″ quilt!

Leave a Reply

