Reproduction Gypsy Wife: Quilt-Along project, week 2

The second block in the Gypsy Wife quilt is called Pershing and is constructed of rows of triangles around a centre square. I decided to go with purple and brown with a touch of green for this block (also out of consideration to its place in the quilt: it adjoins the Colour Wheel block from week 1, so I didn’t want to repeat any fabrics).

Fabric selection for block 2.

Fabric selection for block 2.

The top two fabrics look blueish in the photo, but they really are purple and lilac! So I cut out all the triangles (thank you Creative Grids and Olfa rotating cutting mat).

The square and the triangles, ready for stitching.

The square and the triangles, ready for stitching.

Completed block no. 2 Pershing.

Completed block no. 2 Pershing.

And I sewed the block together. Two down, lots to go!

So what is the progress so far? In the photo below of the original Jen Kingwell Quilt, I have cross-hatched the blocks constructed to date in yellow. Of course, this being week two of the Quilt-Along, there isn’t much yellow hatching, but I’ll post this picture each week to chart overall progress.

The original Gypsy Wife quilt. The yellow cross hatching indicates the blocks I have made so far.

The original Gypsy Wife quilt. The yellow cross-hatching indicates the blocks I have made so far.

2 responses to “Reproduction Gypsy Wife: Quilt-Along project, week 2

  1. Fiona – I love your Gypsy Wife in reproduction fabrics! I’m going to wish I’d picked these fabrics that I understand – ha! I signed up for your blog posts so I can see your quilt develop.

Leave a Reply

