Reproduction Gypsy Wife: Quilt-Along Project, Week 8

The week 8 block is Puss in the Corner, and one has to make two versions: one with the four border strips and one without. The block without the border has a 5″ finished size, with the border 7″.

The Puss in the Corner block.

The Puss in the Corner block.

I decided to dive into my new fabrics from Den Haan & Wagenmakers (see the post for week 7 for details). I don’t know exactly which collections all these fabrics come from (no printing on the selvage of my pieces) but they are either Judie Rothermel or Moda.  I went with greens for my 5″ block.

The fabric selection for the 5" Puss in the Corner.

The fabric selection for the 5″ Puss in the Corner.

I really like the green on the far right: it has a slightly zingy acid tone in real life, that really lifts the colour combination. So I cut out my squares and triangles…

The patches for the 5" block.

The patches for the 5″ block.

And sewed them all together. One Puss in the Corner.

The green 5" Puss in the Corner block.

The green 5″ Puss in the Corner block.

For the 7″ block with the border, I also used new shades from my Den Haan & Wagenmakers purchase: reds and blacks, but, for the first time in this quilt, I added a solid to the mix, well almost; I added a black Moda Marble. I decided at the beginning of my Reproduction Gypsy Wife that I would want some non-patterned fabrics in it, to give the eye a resting place, and that I would do that with the borders around some of the blocks and also with some of the top-to-bottom vertical strips. I thought that compltely solid colours might be a bit too stark, so I chose a range of muted Moda Marbles for this, and this block, the first with a border, is the first time I’ve used one.

So this ingredients looked like this:

The fabric selection for the 7" block.

The fabric selection for the 7″ block.

I treated myself to a new blade in my rotary cutter (I use one from Fiskars) and away I went.

Ready to sew the 7" Puss in the Corner.

Ready to sew the 7″ Puss in the Corner.

 

The block went together even faster than the first one, as there was not thinking things out involved! So this is the second Puss in a Corner block.

The completed 7" Puss in the Corner block.

The completed 7″ Puss in the Corner block.

And after 8 weeks this is the progress, 9 blocks completed.

Gypsy Wife progress after 8 weeks.

Gypsy Wife progress after 8 weeks.

 

 

Leave a Reply

