Reproduction Gypsy Wife: Quilt-Along Project, Week 10

This week the block for the Gypsy wife is made up of 16 half-square triangles. You have to make two blocks, that each finish at 8″. These were very easy to make, of course, and went together in a flash.

The Half Square Triangle block.

The Half Square Triangle block.

In the original quilt Jen Kingwell used the same 32 fabrics, differently mixed, in both blocks (one triangle of each fabric in each). Because the blocks are quite close together in the final quilt, I decided that I wanted them to look different from each other. So I chose 16 fabrics for each block, 8 background fabrics and 8 feature fabrics, and used each twice in the block, but no combination repeats.

I chose blue and cream fabrics for the first block:

The fabric selection for the first block.

The fabric selection for the first block.

For the first time in this quilt I reused a couple of fabrics that are in earlier blocks, but more than half of them are used for the first time.The aim here is for a scrappy Civil War Reproduction Gypsy Wife!

I played with the layout of blues and creams so that I didn’t have any repeated combinations of two fabrics the same adjoining each other. I usually take a digital photo of each layout, and then compare them on the viewing screen on the camera: that way you can flick from one layout to another, and the ‘good’ layout quite quickly becomes apparent.

I chose to have all sixteen fabrics in both the top and bottom halves of the block.

The layout of the blue and cream block.

The layout of the blue and cream block.

So then I made my HST and stitched the rows together.

The finished blue and cream block.

The finished blue and cream block.

For the second block I decided to use double pinks and deep pinky reds. Here also I reused some fabrics form earlier blocks.

The fabric selection for the pink block.

The fabric selection for the pink block.

Once again, these are almost all reproduction fabrics by Marcus Fabrics and Penny Rose.

I made a layout, using the same ‘rules’ as for the blue block.

The layout of the pink block.

The layout of the pink block.

And then got stitching.

The completed pink block.

The completed pink block.

After 10 weeks of quilt-along, there is real progress to be seen if one looks at the completed blocks marked in yellow on the original Gyspy Wife, but there is still plenty of work to go!

Progress (in yellow) after week 10.

Progress (in yellow) after week 10.

 

 

 

2 responses to “Reproduction Gypsy Wife: Quilt-Along Project, Week 10

  1. Hi Mary, thank you! I love it too, it is my favourite block so far. This is only about my third Civil War Reproduction project of any real size (two previous bed quilts) but I do so love the fabrics and colours.

Leave a Reply

